New Year Reminder

We own a business so every New Year’s Day it’s my job to clean out the files. The 2014 files were pulled from the cabinet and transferred to their storage container and fresh new file folders for 2015 have been added to the file cabinet. But Dick Eastman’s blog reminded me that January 1 is also a good time to clean my computer, also. http://blog.eogn.com/2015/01/01/start-the-new-year-with-a-clean-windows-pc/#more-4798 If you are a windows user you need to “undo a year’s worth of wear and tear.”

“Consider what your PC has been through in the past 12 months: Windows Update added dozens of patches to your operating system; you’ve likely installed some new third-party software, uninstalled other programs, and upgraded or patched apps and utilities; and you’ve probably altered, tuned, and tweaked various aspects of your system’s user interface and software settings. And you’ve undoubtedly created and deleted myriad new emails, documents, photos, MP3s, videos, spreadsheets, and such.” http://windowssecrets.com/top-story/start-the-new-year-with-a-clean-windows-pc/

So today, on January 2, I started my computers and did the clean disk, disk check, defrag, and system backups for my computers. Later I will plug my ipad to the computer and back it up to my itunes account. I am starting 2015 with clean, refreshed computers and I have a good clean backup of my system if something would happen to my computers.

“Fred Langa (Dick Eastman’s recommendation) has published an article in the Windows Secrets newsletter that describes how to clean up your Windows computer, clean up the accumulated junk that builds up and slows the system significantly, and provide better computing all year long.” http://windowssecrets.com/top-story/start-the-new-year-with-a-clean-windows-pc/

Happy 2015 with a clean, refreshed computer for doing your genealogy!

Ginny

Leave a Reply

