52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks

In December I encouraged you to pass your stories on so your children and grandchildren will know your stories and the stories of their ancestors. For Christmas this year I created a “Grandpa Book” for all the grandchildren. I gathered together several pictures from my husband’s childhood which included pictures of his grandparents and great grandparents. The book was a pictorial history of his life and ended with a page of all the grandkids pictures. What surprised us was the response of the parents (our kids). The grandkids thought it was fun, but their parents felt like they had been given a treasure – pieces of their dad’s life they never knew about. They laughed and they cried over the book.

I realized I needed a specific plan to pass on their history to them. Not just a “Yes, it is important to pass our stories on”. That’s when I stumbled onto Amy Johnson Crow’s blog “No Story Too Small” and the “52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks Challenge“. The challenge is to write the story of 1 ancestor each week and blog 52 Ancestors-2015 Logothat story. Of course, you don’t have to post your stories on a blog. A blog is a good way to get your stories out to those who are interested in them. But write down the story and find a way to get it out to your family. At the end of the year I plan to put together all my stories into a book that can be given to family members. Maybe an e-mail to family is your way of sharing your stories or create a book with pictures that can be shared.

Each month Amy Johnson Crow provides an optional weekly theme as a springboard to writing about an ¬†ancestor. You are not required to follow the themes but I find them helpful – an ancestor seems to immediately come to mind to write about. The first week it was “Fresh Start” and I wrote about my great grandmother who immigrated from Germany alone, pregnant and with two children to get a fresh start in this country. The next week the theme was “King” so I told the story of my 5th great grandfather who was a loyalist during the Revolutionary War and fought for the king of England. If you would like to read my stories go to Ginny’s Genealogy Gems at https://ginnysgems.wordpress.com/

Sharpen you pens or pound the keyboard and write your stories down. Consider the 52 ancestors in 52 Weeks Challenge. Even if write one story a month, it’s a story you can share. Contact me with your story and we’ll share some of your stories here.

Leave a Reply

